As part of my ongoing effort to learn nomadic skills spindling and spindlemaking is one of the areas I’m researching.  I’ve had some lovely help lately.  Rurik carved me a pfang (Ladkhi spindle) from a branch we picked up while walking in the woods at Furman and my son brought me a bead necklace he made in school.  One of the beads cried out to be repurposed.  Now I have two supported spindles from the Loves of my life.

Just a note…I would not recommend a long staple fiber like Wennsleydale for either of these spindles.  The happy bead whorl spindle actually spins very quickly and is made of my son’s  bead and a knitting needle.  It’s light and quick.  I have some cashmere that’s been waiting for just the right project and spinning it on this little bead whorl might just work:>.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

