How to make a fingerless mitten…

Hi, this is mostly photos. The technique is the exact same concept as making a boot, hat, or bag.  Remember to allow for your hand being bigger then your wrist or you will felt it right onto your arm!  The last one I did used 2.55 oz which was way too much and it ended up being cast like.  This one used .55 oz and I’m sitting here wearing it while typing so it’s very supple and light while being soft, warm, and comfortable.

First make a pattern.  Add for shrinkage.  I typically add about 40% for the merino I use.  I actually shaved this pattern down just a hair too much.

I made four layers alternating vertical and horizontal over the pattern.

I made four layers alternating vertical and horizontal over the pattern.

You can then carefully pull the pattern out and place on top of the wool.  Take a spray bottle and spray all in the inside of the area covered by the pattern piece leaving the seam allowance dry.

You can then carefully pull the pattern out and place on top of the wool. Take a spray bottle and spray all in the inside of the area covered by the pattern piece leaving the "seam allowance" dry.

Gently felt the pattern area.  I like to cover it with tulle and then start rubbing.  Rub till fibers no longer come up with your pinch the wet area.

Gently felt the pattern area. I like to cover it with tulle and then start rubbing. Rub till fibers no longer come up with your pinch the wet area.

Insert the pattern piece over the previously felted area the lay a layer.  Bring the seam allowance over as you place each layer.  Make four layers then once again begin to work on the pattern area.

Insert the pattern piece over the previously felted area the lay a layer. Bring the "seam allowance" over as you place each layer. Make four layers then once again begin to work on the pattern area.

Very carefully, once the center is felted, support the seam allowance and slowly wet and felt it.  One it was felted I took the plastic out of the glove and placed the glove on my hand to finish the fulling process.  I rubbed it on my hand, on a glass washboard, and took it off and threw it in the sink several times as well.

Very carefully, once the center is felted, support the seam allowance and slowly wet and felt it. One it was felted I took the plastic out of the glove and placed the glove on my hand to finish the fulling process. I rubbed it on my hand, on a glass washboard, and took it off and threw it in the sink several times as well.

Im very happy with the final product.  It used .55 oz of wool and is very supple.  Im wearing right now while typing this tutorial:

I'm very happy with the final product. It used .55 oz of wool and is very supple. I'm wearing right now while typing this tutorial:>

Categories: felt, felting, nomad | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “How to make a fingerless mitten…

  1. Avedaggio

    Fantastic! I cannot wait to try this!

  2. Alex Rosenfeld

    Do you worry at all about causing static shock around your keyboard? I wear wool liners sometimes while typing and I’ve wondered whether this might cause an issue.

  3. Alex Rosenfeld

    I should clarify that I mean static shock damaging the computer (though it could cause some discomfort to the user, as well!)

    Alex

    • ladyvirag

      I really don’t know how to answer your question. I would think it’d work just like wearing wool knits though. Honestly it’s sooooo humic here all but two weeks or so a year that static is seldom an issue. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

