Well, I’ve been weaving for about 4 hours today.  I think it’s time for a break before my shoulder falls off.  This has been a great learning experience and I think I am developing a definite appreciation  for why it would take so lot for a CentralAsian weaver to make a rug or yurt band.  I wrote to my weaving buddy of my frustrations today and just received the most encouraging letter.  Apparently even the most experienced weavers only weave about 4 fingerwidths a day when doing this type of weaving.  They too have problems clearing the shed and it takes a long time in comparison to the picking process.  This makes me soooooo happy.

separating layers of warps

Picked designs starting to show.  This is a warp substitution technique.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

