I have been weaving almost daily for most of the past week.  Here is my second project on the backstrap loom.  This is a technique called warps substitution and it’s straightforward and fairly easy once you figure it out.  I really like it.  This is a technique found on pieces coming out of Central Asia used for yurt bands and rugs.  The wool is commercial wool that I respun so it would be tight then warped on the backstrap loom.  I’m really enjoying the backstrap loom which is the same loom as the ground loom just secured differently.  The next piece I’d like to try something a bit more complicated.  I did find this weekend that I can’t talk and do this.  Also I found that I’m exerting so much pressure on the back loom bar that it’s threatening to break.  I Love being able to make a tight weave with this technique and feel that it’s very well suited to making straps and bands for use.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

